If I Could Write Only One Sentence


 

Writing

Just Write One Single Good Sentence.

I wore myself out trying to write just one good sentence. My goal was to compose a sentence that I believed was respectable. So I sat down and I began to write a solitary sentence on a blank sheet of paper.

I struggled to compose that sentence, and when I finished it, I studied the sentence. I scrutinized it. I dissected it. I strained to grasp its essence. I touched it with my eyes hoping to feel its singular textural meaning.

Next, I used my ears to take in the sentence. I read my sentence aloud. I listened to the sounds of the words that communicated it. I made note of these audible words. I observed if they had palpable cadence. I took note of any phonological melody, if it existed. And I listened for any mellifluousness that sang in its phonetics.

Having done all this, next I strove to experiment with the sentence. I endeavored to improve it, and I constantly sat back down and then I rewrote it, and when finished I analyzed it all over again.

This single sentence’s nuance changed each time I rewrote it, and I rewrote it several times each day. I kept working on my sentence, promising myself to finish it completely within one month’s time.

I revised that one sentence unceasingly until the end of the month. Now that it was finally finished, I looked at my sentence. It still could have been better. But it was as close to perfect that I could ever hope to get. And when I saw the final version, I felt like I had written a sentence that made all my efforts worthwhile.

Maybe I will show you my sentence one day, when I rewrite it again, and it is just a little bit better than it exists right now. I do not know if I will ever truly finish the sentence. But I hope that I can do so one day.

Because if I can write just one single magnificent sentence, then I can write thousands more sentences just like it over my lifetime. And If I chained all of these sentences together, I could give birth to a book.

And if someone read my book, and burned that book in anger because it said bold and original things. I would know that I had written an exceptional book. And I would be very happy and know that I had finally succeeded as a writer.

2 thoughts on “If I Could Write Only One Sentence

  1. I, for one, would definitely like to see that sentence! But interesting concept how the ability to write one truly well-written sentence could someday, lead to a book.

  2. Thanks Hannah, it was nice that you stopped by my humble blog. I am sorry for the late reply. I was at the medical center in Houston for a while. It is nice to be back home and nice to find your comment.
    Happy creative blogging, taking pictures, playing music Hannah.

    I used to love to take a camera everywhere I went. I took oodles of pictures (when they still used film.) I somehow stopped doing that altogether when I moved from the scenic Hill Country and nature of Austin, to live in Houston.
    Nothing here is inspiring. There is a lot of flat concrete, we are known for our lovely and bountiful garbage trees,and the green sky is so polluted and so smoggy here, we do not have to spend money on fancy camera “filters.” I really miss pictures.

    Take lots of pictures of yourself and your boyfriend while you are young. When you finish school and work for 20 years, you will look back at your self portraits. You will be amazed at how beautiful you are, but never realized at the time. Trust me.

    It seems only logical and convenient to pay random strangers a nickle to take your picture while you pose alone or with a friend.But this is a common misconception and I learned it is problematic.
    Most people get really huffy and bent out of shape if you ask them if they can break a 20 dollar bill and then give you 95 nickles back in change. Watch these people, They are very passive aggressive.
    We called these “change Nazis” and they stomp on flowers, pull kittens tails, and do things out of spite.
    A change Nazi almost always will moan about not having 95 nickles then say “forget it, I will do it for nothing.” This is a red flag and usually means they resent doing it, and secretly hate you in most cases.
    So to get revenge I find that 90% of these people. purposely take an out of focus picture of you to get even.Or else they cut your and your friend’s heads out of the picture. I think they probably laugh about it and talk behind your back later, as well.

    The other 10% are nice, adorable,retired senior citizens. Old people always carry lots of loose change. Any grandma with a purse has 95 nickles to make change. But this does not matter– because, get this: If you give your camera to any senior citizen, 100 % of these elderly, polite, gray haired persons will try to steal your camera, they simply take off, and run away–very slowly. It is technically illegal tackle old people on concrete running away with a stolen camera. The police say they have brittle bones (whatever..) Never chase an old camera thief If they have a walker, the cops will fine you and the sound of the aluminum walker hitting concrete is worse than nails across a chalkboard. It is not fair. But be aware not to become a victim of senior citizens. Try not to make them mad, a lot of old people are involved in organized crime.

    I tried paying dumb kids to take my picture, they have tons of nickles, but they can’t count change correctly and you will get screwed. Any criminal children under 18 are not sent to prison for this act — I don’t know why.

    My advice, get a tripod. It pays for itself. Never rent tripods, they rip you off. If you do not wish to purchase a tripod, and your self-portrait is an emergency, the only financially prudent action is this: steal a tripod. Note: this is technically illegal if you get caught. So unless you are experienced at running from the police, I recommend that you use guilt trips to pressure a friend or boyfriend into stealing the tripod for you.I recommend stealing a good brand like Slick tripods.

    I hope that I have helped you and educated you in the perils and best actions in regards to self-portrait success, Hannah. Never be a victim. Thank you for visiting Noodles Toes.

    Live, love, and notice every little flower and smile you see. Good luck.
    Bryan Edmondson

Please Comment

