Living in “The Now”


LIVE IN “THE NOW” AND YOU WON’T REGRET DYING.

If one thing is true it is that, we humans all naturally tend to forget to appreciate the wonder of the little things happening around us in the present moment i.e. “The Now.” I suggest that these things are all that we ever really have. And in a very real way, I would propose that there is nothing that truly exists but what is happening “Right Now.”

Actively living through these actions and things can make our life in the present stop being boring and become glorious. In hard times, finding something ecstatic in “The Now” can serve as something hopeful.

In really hard times, we may even use this rapturous simple thing to hold on to it for our very lives, when we find we are treading water far from land, and we can grab it to stay afloat and survive long after the ship has sunk

It is not hard to notice these things if I actively, and continually try.

As these are the most obvious things in my life. I am talking everything in “The Now,” that I can cherish. I am talking about regularly involving my mind in spiritual practice (Spirituality can be either religious and with God, or Secular with the Universe and Nature). We are a social species and we need to be in mutuality, we need touch and embrace, and we all need love. If these are not readily available in humans, I find my dog has more than enough to take their places.

I am talking about really clutching gold, orange, and purple sunsets, noticing that brilliant golden line around the edge of the retiring clouds, and the yellow pollen diffuse and glowing saffron as it hangs luminous in the golden dying sunbeams.

I think it helps when instead of being irritated about children we concentrate on actively paying attention to their laughter. Imagine them running barefoot, rapturous on the shoreline in shallow water. Suddenly we can notice the Sun’s golden copper glow on their arms and shoulders. We can see the wave of tiny brown hands simultaneously brushing golden hair from shining eyes. Strands of flowing silk color flow in the breeze dancing independently.

Children run and their voices and laughter break with the crash of the waves as the sea moves into the shore as a frothy foam carpet.

At the end of an active day, we benefit when we slumber into the oblivion of restorative sleep, deep sleep, safe inactivity, and a dark sanctuary like being back in the warmth of the womb.

And when we awake, it benefits our spirits fully to witness the crystal morning dew clinging tenuously to a silky, crimson rose bud in beads of pure water. The rose slowly releasing a muted sweet fragrance in the humid morning’s first golden sunlight can be like the hint of a first lover’s perfume.

I am speaking about noticing little things that I usually miss, like walking on the beach, feeling the sand coarse between my toes as I shuffle along on a sunset walk on a solitary beach. Am I alone but not lonely? And do I hear the recurring crash, whispering hiss, and feel the cool rush of the briny foam run over my bare feet under rolled up cuffs of jeans? .

And if I am in the country and I take a walk, am I worrying about something unavoidable like fighting cancer, the surgeries, my bills, or not having a current lover. I do not want to waste my time on things I cannot change and consequently and absentmindedly tread past something as magnificent as wildflowers. No, I want these florets to startle me. If I walk upon a patch of remote blossoms in an open grassy field, it ought to be like walking into a surprise attack from a tribe of vibrantly painted jungle natives.

I want to see the colors of magnificent, warriors, their glowing face paints throbbing in the firelight. Dark, frenzied forms, wearing vestments exotic colorful feathers, warriors dancing, and jumping all about me in a blur of orange, violet, yellow, and blood red.

Each wild flower’s color should explode in a different redolent sound. I want to hear the thunderous banging of their palms on animal skin covered drums—exploding like firecrackers next to my ear, in echoes of orange, violet, gold, and crimson hues.

These flowers should startle me, make me jump off the ground, and leave my ears ringing as I hit the ground with my heart pounding looking right into the colorful blooms. That is how I want to notice a patch of wild flowers. I want to be completely in “The Now.”

If I am not, once I have walked past the flowers, they are forever gone from my existence.

It is very hard for me to remember to notice these little things.

 If I my child blowing out his 5th birthday cake candles because I am worrying about my taxes; if I don’t look into my wife’s eyes and hug her as if it is the first and last time I ever will, because I am headed for the TV set; or if I don’t stop and remind myself how precious the love of others in my life really is—I will entirely miss the sacred experience of appreciating them.

And if I am not very careful, I will fall into a habit of, not appreciating them with increasing frequency. The most important things can grow so familiar in fact, that I can easily begin to take them for granted. Even worse, I can tragically assume they will always be there with me. And when I do this, all of these things begin to lose their astonishment, and thus become quite easy to neglect. And when I miss them, it is a dreadful mistake, as they are gone forever and I did not fully experience them.

Believe someone with a serious cancer; absolutely nothing in life is permanent.

Everything that glitters must fade away. And I am not just talking about irrelevant things like a dent in a new car, the inescapable winkles, or losing my hair. I am talking about the most precious things I have and love. I am talking about my spouse, my children, my family, my dearest friends, and my loving pets.

Try always to experience your own personal sacred things in your own life— always, in “The Now.” Take in all that is around you; if you do, you will live your life as fully as you possibly can. If you do not, I suggest that you will never be truly be as happy as it is possible to be.

Cherish beloved things always.

One day everything you love will leave you, because people pass away and our pets die.

And once something beloved leaves you, it is gone forever.

Do not miss it while it is right in front of you.

In 5 years or 50 years, you will be on your deathbed. And the time you had will never seem enough. The only way to be at peace with death, I think, is to actively burn with spirituality, family, love, gratitude for blessings—and never take things for granted. I believe if I practice this when I die, I will have missed nothing in life. And I will have lived a full life, and not be so afraid to die.

5 thoughts on “Living in “The Now”

Please Comment

